I v. Me

Tuesday, October 25th, 2011

One thing that really bugs me is when people don’t know how to use “I” and “me” in a sentence, e.g. “She asked my husband and I to go to the party”.
This is something I hear EVERY DAY and it drives me crazy! Reality TV “stars” do it (OK well it is reality TV after all!) evenĀ journalists do it (JOURNALISTS!) and I guess this is what makes the rest of the population think it’s OK to do it!

I once was talking to a customer and said something like the sentence above –“They invited my husband and ME to the party”, and this woman, a stranger, actually “corrected” me! She said, “ahem, it’s my husband and I” (which it is not). I was dumbfounded for a second, and anyone who knows me well knows I am very seldom at a loss for words, but finally gathered my wits and calmed my ire enough to say “Why thank you for telling I”. I don’t think she got it.

It’s fairly easy to discern which to use if it is not something that comes naturally to you. Just remove the other person from the sentence and if it sounds right, it is. One wouldn’t say “They invited I to a party” would one? NO! One would say “They invited me”, ergo, they invited my husband and me”. EASY!

Now don’t get me started on strangers “correcting” strangers for any reason…

Leave a Reply

